My E-P2 is throwing a hissy fit!

Ian_Holmes

Mu-43 Regular
I've just had a very unusual problem occur with my E-P2. I've been using it with no problems since March and now all of a sudden when I try to download todays pictures to my MacBook Air it doesn't want to talk to the computer. The USB cable is securely connected between the two. Yet the computer won't detect the camera. I doubt its a Mac problem as in addition to this I noticed that the firmware has reset itself to version 1.1
I can't update it to v1.2 because my laptop won't recognise the camera.
Anyone any ideas or is it an Olympus repair job?

Ian

edb

Mu-43 Regular
I'm not a computer expert but I think the latest version for the E-P2 is v1.1

I don't think there is a v1.2

Naturally, I could be wrong but If you had mistakenly downloaded a version for another camera it may have created a problem.

Kapekodder

Mu-43 Regular
Have you tried to transfer the files using a USB card reader. I have always used an inexpensive multi-card type for my transfers. They seem to be quicker and trying one now might help determine if it's the camera(hardware?settings in the menu?) or a computer/ software issue.

Good luck with your E-P2.

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
I use a card reader always.
You may want to restart the computer.
Then plug in the cord and see if the Mac finds it.

Rudi

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Occam's Razor - I'd suspect a faulty cable first, before anything else. It's the most fragile link in the chain! As suggested, get yourself a card reader and use that. If that doesn't work, THEN you have a problem to solve...

e.besana

Mu-43 Regular
I would first suggest verifying the USB port on your MacBook is functional. Maybe try plugging a thumb drive or some other USB device into it.

If the port works, try connecting your camera to another computer to see if the issue is in fact with the camera/cable.