My E-M1 - Impressions

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by colonelpurple, Dec 17, 2013.

1. colonelpurple

colonelpurple Mu-43 Regular

Feb 7, 2013
    So I have had the E-M1 for a week with the 12-40mm.

The 75mm arived today at home, apparently! - will try next week (actually when I get home).

Just to say first off that I am a complete amateur. I just use cameras for fun. I have shot a number of events but for some charities I am involved with, so purely non paying. To be honest I dislike this work as the pressure is on to get memorable pictures, but it does teach you about thinking on your feet, which is always good for me and makes me really respect professional photographers - its hard work!

When opening the box I couldn't get over how tiny it is, I thought they sent me a E-M5 by mistake!

The camera design has been very much as expected however the build quality wasn't. Its simply beautiful or just right.

There is something about the density of a camera (not kidding!). The Leica M6 TTL is my alltime best camera size/weight. Its small but not too small and it has a good weight. At that time is was made of a zinc alloy, before magnesium alloy became available. I think Leica M shooters are waiting for the M260 to go back to the M6 size (we can only hope), but coming back the E-M1, it is really tiny, after using a DSLR, but a lovely weight. The handling is superb and it has a "just pick me up and shoot" feeling. Unlike with the D800 which I had to force myself to pick up, the E-M1 lends itself to being carried around all the time (I don't wear a neck strap, rather I just hold the camera in my right hand). The 12-40mm is a decent weight and is a bit front heavy on all other M4/3s models except the GH3. On the E-M1 it balances almost right, -50g on the lens or +50g on the body would make it perfect, but its neither here nor there.