1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Must have MFT lenses ?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by justa1972, Oct 15, 2016.

1. justa1972

justa1972 Mu-43 Regular

Jun 29, 2013
    Hello all

I'm new to MFT and just have the 12-60 kit lens that came with the G80. Although this will cover most of my needs I'd like to add a fast prime and a telephoto - afterall it was the availability of good cheap lenses that attracted me in the first place - along with weight.

So I'm tempted by the 14, 15, 17, and 20mm primes - the 25mm might be a bit long for me...

Telephoto wise I'm not sure as there are so many to chose from ! The 35-100 f4 looks good but isn't hugely different to my 12-60...

The best bang for buck is what I'm after - so what do you recommend?

Thanks

2. ionian

ionian Mu-43 Veteran

May 20, 2016
    Kent, UK
    Simon
    Only you can know what focal lengths you prefer - for me, the best bang for buck lenses are two short tele primes in the Olympus 45mm and the sigma 60mm, but these don't look to suit your style. From a wider perspective, the Panasonic 20mm is razor sharp and reasonably priced, but if you'd get more use from something wider then that might provide better value for you.

For cheaper tele zooms, I'd recommend the Panasonic 45-150, although bang for buck you'd struggle to go wrong with any of the Olympus offerings or the Panasonic 45-175.

Honestly I'd recommend shooting with the kit lens, work out what focal lengths you'd prefer and then you'll have a better idea of what to get.

• Agree Agree x 6
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Giiba

Giiba Something to someone somewhere

Aug 19, 2016
    Burnaby, BC
    I agree with @ionian@ionian

But... will add that for dollar value the Panasonic 14/2.5 and 20/1.7 are hard to beat, as the 15/1.7 and 17/1.8 are a good chunk more money. The 14 is slightly faster than your kit zoom... I'd buy it for the size not the aperture.