mu43 vs APS-C aperture

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by GreinerStudio, Feb 16, 2017.

1. GreinerStudio

GreinerStudio Mu-43 Regular

Feb 15, 2017
    I understand the difference in crop factor (2x vs 1.5x) but did not realize there was also a difference in DOF at the same aperture. This leads me to ask...

Is this purely a DOF phenomenon, or is the light gather of a mu43 at 2.8 similar to a APS-C at 1.8 and therefore as "Fast"?? I'm guessing not, but was not sure as I'm new to the system and coming from APS-C. I imagine it is just a DOF change, but why?

2. skellington

skellington Mu-43 Veteran Subscribing Member

Mar 4, 2013
    Atlanta, GA
    Keith
    There is a DOF change at equivalent field of view.

A 25mm lens has identical DoF on every sensor size, at a given distance.(**) And a 25mm lens has a greater DoF than a 35 or 50mm (for APS-C or Full Frame) at a given distance.

However, all other parameters are basically the same. ISO 200 @ F2.8 @ 1/160 will produce an identical exposure on a m43 as an APS-C or full-frame camera.

Because the pixels on m43 tend to be smaller than APS-C or full-frame, you'll tend to get some more noise at the higher ISOs. However, the E-M1m2 appears to perform about as well as your Pentax did based on DXOmark scores.

(**) DOF calculations include a tiny factor based on pixel size and size of final output. This makes DOF on a smaller sensor a tiny bit different. But this depends on your output format and is almost a rounding error.

• Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. greenboy

greenboy Mu-43 Top Veteran

Light gathering is as fast, only DOF is different as is related to crop factor. As a newcomer to photography a couple years back I was astounded how many supposedly knowledgeable photographers on APS-C or FF would try to dump on MFT using disinfo about this.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2017
  4. Adam CL

Adam CL Mu-43 Rookie

Feb 16, 2017
    Sweden