1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Mu-43 Book Club 1: Passionate Photog. - Step 1: Passion - Where did yours originate?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by DeeJayK, Aug 31, 2012.

1. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    This thread is a companion thread to the [thread=32361]main Step One thread[/thread] in which I hope that we can discuss the germination of our individual photographic passion, as Steve Simon does in his book.

What was it that lead you into photography?

2. hunyuan7

hunyuan7 Mu-43 Regular

Aug 31, 2011
    I haven't read the book, but here is the main reason why I am into photography: I am a terrible artist (sketching, drawing, and painting). Photography is easier. A minor reason is to capture a memory.

3. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay
    Travel.

My wife and I like to travel, and I got my first m4/3 camera because I wanted to bring home pictures that captured how I actually felt when I was there, what it was like to experience a new and interesting place.

This really hit home several months ago when I was visiting my mom and we took out some old photo albums. The photos immediately triggered all kinds of half-forgotten memories from my childhood that I never would have thought of without the prompting. The experience stuck with me since then and I want to make sure that someday I can look back at my favorite places and times of my life and remember them all over again :smile:

4. fljoe

fljoe Mu-43 Regular

Dec 30, 2011
    FL
    I always shot with a P&S camera. Everyone kept saying that I have an excellent eye for pictures, so my wife bought me a DSLR (Canon 30D). I was so overwhelmed by the DLSR that till to this day it is sitting in a box brand new unopened.