Discussion in 'Video Post-Production' started by Kaiser, Jun 9, 2014.

1. Kaiser

Kaiser Mu-43 Regular

Apr 27, 2014
    Hey guys and gals,

i'll be doing some video shooting on holiday soon and i plan to back up to my 128gb iPad. Ive since discovered that iOS cannot retrieve AVCHD files using the camera connection kit due to the AVCHD folder hierachy - it can only import from the DCIM folder.

So Ive noticed on my cams (GX7, EM1) that MP4 has lower bitrates than AVCHD. Am I giving up any quality by using MP4 ( which i can back up to the ipad ).
    How do they compare for quality and flexibility of files in post. i will be using FCPX and at most some minor exposure adjustments and colour grading.

2. GFFPhoto

GFFPhoto Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 24, 2013
    I'm still fairly new to video, but my understanding is that AVCHD files are smaller so if space or long record times are an issue, use AVCHD, but otherwise use MP4 because they are much easier and faster to work with. And I've been told that they are fairly equivalent in quality.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. T N Args

T N Args Agent Photocateur

Dec 3, 2013
    Adelaide, Australia
    call me Arg
    GX7 uses variable bitrate recording, so bitrate tables are approximate only. The only exact correlation in my GX7 manual's table on AVCHD and MP4 bitrates is for 1920x1080 at 50p, where both formats are listed at 28 Mbps.

So I wouldn't worry about quality, but, as GFF says, the files will be bigger with MP4.
  4. Kaiser

Kaiser Mu-43 Regular

Apr 27, 2014