1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Moving from E-1 to EM-1 after 10 years

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by bbodine9, Jun 1, 2014.

1. bbodine9

bbodine9 Mu-43 Rookie

Feb 16, 2010
    I have been shooting the Oly E-1 for 10 years and a new EM-1 will be arriving this week. What will I notice the most as a change to my photography from users of the new OMD technology? Thanks in advance for your comments.

2. owczi

owczi nareteV 34-uM

Many things - both in terms of the shooting experience itself and the resulting photography, and for multiple reasons, many of which due to the fact that you're doing a bit of a quantum leap between multiple generations of cameras.

What lens are you getting it with - or are you planning to only use it with your current 4/3 lenses?

Most different aspects:

- First of all, E-M1 is not an SLR, so no mirror and no optical viewfinder. The electronic viewfinder is big and bright though,
    - Fantastic stabilisation. You will find yourself shooting at shutter speeds you never thought you'd get usable results with,
    - Great low light performance (ISO + stabilisation). It's not that E-M1 is a world leader in this area, it definitely isn't, it's just that it's light years ahead of the the E-1, and what it lacks in ISO performance (in today's full frame DSLR satandards!), it makes up with stabilisation,
    - Very quick operation (if you get a decent SD card) - no slowness or buffering,
    - Very fast autofocus, and many more AF points than the E-1 (which has 3, right?),
    - An abundance of customisation options and function keys you can re-assign. Sometimes too much!