Moving away from FF to MFT

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by Lucky, Jan 27, 2014.

1. Lucky

Lucky Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 21, 2014
    Hi people.

First about me. I'm from Reykjavík, Iceland, father of three. My day job is in ATC and photography is a serious hobby.

I recently moved away from Canon, I've been using Canon DSLR's for 8 or 9 years. I tried MFT few years back with the Oly ep3 and a 12mm f2. It didn't stick on me then.
    Since the OMD em5 came out, I have been tempted to try the MFT system again. When I took the plunge in december I decided to sell my 5D mkII kit to force myself to stick to the OMD while I get more comfortable with it.

My new kit is the OMD em5 + grip, Oly 12mm f2, 45mm f1.8 and a Metz 48 flash. Ohh I also got the 12-50 with the camera but I'm not sure I like that lens.
    I can see a 60 macro, and a maybe a 75mm in a not so distant future.
    I have a Pany GF1 which I intend to have modified for InfraRed. Please comment if you have any info on this subject.

Some notes on the MFT after a months use:
    The OMD em5 underexposes a bit to my taste, I tried ETTR and in processing I only bring back the Highlights for a good exposure.
    The files are not as clean as I would like, being kind of a pixelpeeper this is bugging me a bit.
    I'm using LR4 and I am dissatisfied with LR support for Olympus.
    On the positive side, my kit is now way smaller and lighter than before.
    Those oly lenses are really good.
    This system suites casual photogs like me.

Now some pics.

• Like Like x 6
  2. pdk42

pdk42 One of the "Eh?" team

Jan 11, 2013
    Leamington Spa, UK
    On the under exposing issue, I've set a permanent +0.5 EV correction.
  3. Fmrvette

Fmrvette This Space For Rent

May 26, 2012
    Detroit, Michigan
    Hi Steini!

Welcome to the forum!

4. geoawelch

geoawelch Mu-43 Regular

Nov 18, 2011
    The newer versions of LR do well with OM-D files.
  5. Lucky

Lucky Mu-43 Rookie

Jan 21, 2014