Motorsport help needed for clueless photographer

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by solidute, Mar 14, 2014.

1. solidute

solidute New to Mu-43

Jul 10, 2013
    Hi all,

I'm very new to photography and my Olympus ep3. I am currently at the Melbourne formula 1 Grand Prix and am literally trying to get a decent photo or 2 to take home, obviously a few hundred would be great but beginners can't be choosers (or something like that)

I tried to get some shots yesterday but my camera would only focus on the fence wire or wouldn't take quick enough bursts to capture the cars.

I have absolutely no knowledge of photography apart from the odd thing picked up searching forums but no knowledge on how to use any of it so auto mode is used mainly on the scene selection and sports mode (please forgive poor terminology) I'm also using the 40-150mm lens that came in the kit to get a closer zoom as the 14-42mm lens just doesn't get close enough. I have no tripod or monopod either.

So basically I'm hoping someone can give me a pointer or 2 to help me get a few good shots.

Your help is much appreciated.

I will say I would have done a photography course by now but the problem is there isn't anything in my part of the country and would mean a few hours in the car to get to one. I know time spent I the field is also a good learning tool but due to life commitments, eg children and work, I don't yet have that experience either.
  2. Hyubie

Hyubie Unique like everyone else

Oct 15, 2010
  3. HarryS

HarryS Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 23, 2012
    Midwest, USA
    EP3 and Olympus 40-150. If it were me,
    -I would put the EP3 in manual focus mode and high speed burst mode.
    -Set ISO in AUTO with a high limit of 1600 (because you have an EP3)
    -In menu C, make sure RLS Priority S (first line) is turned off. This allows the camera to fire if exposure is off.