More info about MFT- Oly EP-L1

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by 369, Feb 18, 2010.

1. 369

369 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 10, 2010
    Hi all,

I am a casual photographer and I enjoy taking pictures, but its mostly of family and friends, social occasions. I have never used a dslr, tried once but felt too bulky, so I need a Point and shoot, the MFT interests me only because the epl- 1 is almost affordable by the mass consumer, who are not professionals but would like to have a good cam with great IQ.

I want to know, if I am better off with a P&S like the canon G11 or something like or should I look into the MFT. This cam will also be used by my wife who likes to shoot in auto, how would that be for her?

Is the auto focusing fast? Since I don't plan to spend a lot of money in lenses, I want to know what third party cheap lenses can be used with this, do they auto focus or is it manual focus?

Can this cam be used as a P&S, Will it produce punchy colors right out of the camera with PP, I don't want to spend time on PP. I like saturated, popping colors will the oly produce that.

Thanks

2. Amin Sabet

Amin Sabet Administrator Moderator

Apr 10, 2009
    Boston, MA (USA)
    The E-PL1 will give you better image quality than any small sensor compact camera, G11 included. It will be a great choice for your wife as well, working very well on full auto. Results are punchy straight out of the camera and will not require postprocessing. Autofocusing is not very fast with the lens which comes with the camera. It won't be slower than any of the compacts you've used, and it may be faster, but it won't blow you away.

There are no inexpensive (under $200) autofocus lenses which you can add. As I mentioned to you in another thread, there are many inexpensive manual focus 50mm lenses which can be used with an adapter (lens and adapter available for total cost of $100-150) and provide a faster option to the kit zoom lens when you want more speed and/or less depth of field.