Monopod for sports photography?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by SVQuant, Mar 2, 2017.

1. SVQuant

SVQuant Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 20, 2015
    SF Bay Area, California, USA
    Sameer
    I have been shooting my older son's lacrosse games for a couple of years now and my older two kids' martial arts shows for a while longer and have been doing it handheld. Talking to a pro at my son's last tournament convinced me that I should try a monopod.

I have never shot with a monopod. I tried once years ago, hated it (not sure why) and never tried again. I would like to hear from more experienced folks if this is a good idea. Also, recommendations for what to look for in a monopod, need for a head, etc. would be most welcome.

Some my shots:
    Lacrosse in the rain (image heavy)
    Showcase - Olympus 50-200mm f2.8-3.5 ZD 4/3 SWD

2. Phocal

Phocal Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 3, 2014
    Don't do it................I shot sports for a long time with Canon and hated using one, they are so restrictive. That is the most liberating thing about shooting Olympus. So much easier to shoot different perspectives, laying on the ground, sitting, kneeling or standing..................can all be done without any forth thought and at a moments notice. When you are using a 500mm lens you have decide, ok I want some lower perspective shots and make adjustment then shoot then make more adjustments to go back to another perspective. That "Pro" you talked to probably uses much bigger lenses that you can't handhold for an entire game. With the IBIS in your EM1 and the light weight of your lens, you gain nothing by using a monopod................well you do gain all the disadvantages of a monopod.

• Appreciate Appreciate x 1
  3. oldracer

oldracer Mu-43 Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Oct 1, 2010
    USA
    I seem to frequently be the monopod zealot in threads around here so I'll weigh in. My use is for travel photography, which requires a lot more flexibility than sports.