Monitor calibration differences

speedy

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Can someone help with a bit of an explanation, as to what exactly is going on here. I'm no professional, so I don't worry about using any special aftermarket colour calibration tools or software. I just run through the inbuilt Windows 10 program in the settings menu, & run with that. I can then choose the calibration settings in my raw converter, & use that (Silkypix) Now, this is where the head scratching begins. Windows, & SP are allegedly using the same calibration profile, yet the colours & contrast look washed out when viewed in a web browser. I've tried Microsoft Edge, Chrome, Firefox, & Brave to name a few, they're all pretty similar, yet way different than using the same profile in SP. What gives? Any settings I've missed?

Edit -Windows seems to have hijacked my previous Intel app, where you could choose between using the full dynamic range setting, or the TV profile. That has disappeared, and been replaced with Windows own calibration program.

Last edited:

speedy

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
I'm using an Intel Skull Canyon NUC, with its inbuilt Iris Pro 850 graphics/video https://www.anandtech.com/show/10343/the-intel-skull-canyon-nuc6i7kyk-minipc-review
Monitor is an older 24" 1080p Viewsonic VX2439wm. I'm not concerned about absolute calibration accuracy/values, but why there's a difference between what I see while in Silkypix, & on a browser, of the same photo.
Oh, & Merry Xmas to you too :) And anyone/everyone else who may be browsing

MetilHed

Mu-43 Veteran
Real Name
Jeff
Are the web browsers you're using color managed ? And/or whatever websites you're viewing them on/uploading them too, may change and colorspace settings you had, or process the files you upload (compression and re-sizing are common).

speedy

Mu-43 Hall of Famer