Monitor Calibration BenQ 2700Pt (using Linux)

va3pinner

Mu-43 Regular
I chose this monitor to connect to my laptop for the best possible accuracy, but I run Linux as my OS (Gnome 3 based on Ubuntu at the moment). I'd like to know if there are any other Linux nerds (uh users) in the Forum, and their experience in setting up their monitor for color accuracy. And yes this laptop has the guts for photo and video processing.
Four Questions:
1) I have a SpyderXPro that will work with Linux. I could use that for the BenQ2700, but I would rather use their proprietary software to calibrate the monitor hardware (as they advertise). The SpyderX would calibrate the vid card in the laptop (as I understand it, may be wrong about that)
2) What about calibrating the laptop monitor? Worth the effort?
3) As for the BenQ Pallet Master, it is Windows based. Anybody tried running it in WINE (in Linux)?
4) What do you do to calibrate your system for accuracy?
I'm not a professional by any means, but I do want the best I can get. Will be using DarkTable, RawTherapee as my primary PP applications if that makes a difference.
Thanks for the help

Mike Wingate

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Mike Wingate
My pro photographer mate recommends the SpiderX with the latest software. Recalibrates a couple of times a month. Very pushy about me getting one.

mauve

Mu-43 All-Pro
I'm a bit of a Linux nerd, but after dabbling with colorimetry some years ago, I realised that over 90% of my "serious" photography was in b&w anyway, so why bother ? I'm sorry I won't be able to help here... I suppose you already gave DisplayCal a try ? https://displaycal.net/
This said I never found ubuntu nor gnome very comfortable to use and maintain ; I highly recommend KDE - Manjaro instead for ease of use and long term stability. But maybe that's just me.

Cheers,
M.

SVENS1

Mu-43 Regular