Model shoot

lakota

Mu-43 Regular
Real Name
Roger
I am doing a shoot with my new EM-1 soon, I have the olympus 45mm 1.8 60mm 2.8 17mm 2.8 50mm ed and 50-200 ed and panasonic 12-35 f2 what lens would you recommend to do glamour model shoot

I will be using 2 Bowens 550 studio lights triggers by pulsar radio trigger, not used the olympus EM-1 in the studio? previously used canon

any recommendations would be appreciated

many thanks

Roger

mf100

Mu-43 Regular
Real Name
Matthew
If it were me I'd go with the 45mm; fast AF, great IQ, f/1.8, focal length no too long and since you're in control of the subject matter no need for a zoom lens.

That said I have no real studio experience to speak of.

Need an assistant? ;-)

Photodan1

Mu-43 Regular
Real Name
Dan
Roger,

The lenses you have will work fine but a couple of them are a little long on focal length for an in-studio setting. the 60 in particular may not let you move far enough away from your subject and the 55-200 I would think might not be the best. However, the 45 and even the 12-35 should serve you very well. The 45 is long enough to get a tight head or head and shoulders shot without having to get uncomfortably close to your model. The 12-35 will allow a full body shot even in pretty tight quarters. Both are very sharp and the 45 in particular can help you to throw the background out of focus if you need to. Indoors with a backdrop you may or may not want to do that.

The radio triggers may be ttl compatible with Canon so ttl with the EM1, ttl will not be an option but you can probably use them in manual. I prefer to shoot that way anyway so you can precisely control the light.

Sounds like you have what you need to get started.

SpecFoto

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Real Name
Jim