Miss my Panasonic G2

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by dixeyk, Mar 6, 2012.

1. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    I have been a camera trader ever since I started with m43 in 2010. I've had a number of bodies and each of them has had great qualities and some less than great qualities as well. Prior to coming to m43 I used a Canon 10D, Olympus E500/E520 and a NIkon D40. I've had and used (in chronological order)...

E-PL1 (with VF2)
    E-PL2
    E-P1
    G2
    GF2 (with and without LVF1)
    E-P1 (a second time)
    E-PM1 (with VF2)

When I look back at all the photos I've shot with these cameras a few things jump out at me. The IQ is so remarkably similar that I'd have a tough time telling them apart without looking at the file info in Lightroom.

Next, I have found after much experimentation that I prefer having using an EVF but it can get to be very tiring on the eyes. If I could I'd rather have a nice OVF (like a Leica M or Bessa RF). To be honest my favorite camera combination was my Olympus E520 with 14-54 lens but the absolutely terrible VF on that camera was what made me sell it. I also find that I like Olympus colors but to me its not any great mystical experience. They produce nice warm pleasing colors. You can do the same in Photoshop, Lightroom, Aperture or what-have-you. I even found that you could tweak the Panasonic colors to get pretty close. I like IBIS but it wouldn't make me buy one camera over another (just like a nice stereo in a car is a cool perk but hardly the reason to buy one). I survived years without it on my film cameras so I can manage without it now.