MIRANDA EC 50mm F 1.4 For my OM-D ;;;

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by PantelisMor, Apr 10, 2013.

1. PantelisMor

PantelisMor Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 14, 2013
    Good evening.

I want to buy a 50 mm lens. I find the MIRANDA EC 50mm F 1.4 Manual lens. I would like to know more about the lens. Do you think that would be a good choice for my OM-D ;;; could i find an adaptor for my oly ;;;

it's the first time i search for adapter lens, i have no experience. Plz give me your lights...

Thx a lot
  2. juangrande

juangrande Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 2, 2012
    I don't know much about Miranda's, but what I've heard is not good. Generally speaking, the Takumar , the Canon and Nikon, the Minolta, and Olympus are considered the best bets for legacy fifties with the Takumar SMC being slightly more highly regarded. This of course does not include Leica and Zeiss, which are 3-4 times more money. The adapters can be had for $20 or less with myself liking the Fotodiox. Make sure that the glass is in excellent shape with not too much dust, no haze, fungus or visible scratches. You could get the above from $75- $125. After a quick investigation, it appears they are not used much because of the mount being a "Miranda bayonet" mount, whatever that is. The EC was the latest version made. It also has an inordinate amount of lens groupings for a 50, which could make it more difficult to find a properly functioning one, optically.
  3. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    That particular lens wouldn't be my first choice, simply because Miranda to :43: adapters are difficult to find. Of course this dearth of adapter options and the relative obscurity of the Miranda brand can make for some bargains.

You can find an adapter here.

If you do buy it and adapt it, please share some images. I've yet to see anyone who has shared images in this forum from a Miranda lens.
  4. HarryS

HarryS Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 23, 2012
    Midwest, USA