Minolta Dimage Scan Dual ll

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
Just picked up a Minolta Dimage Scan Dual ll -Neg and slide scanner - old but still supposed to be good

Snow Leopard does not like the supplied software - says that it does not support the "classic" environment

Vuescan is a recommended software - but I would like to get the thing working before I pay - so ideally I would like some Minolta software that works with my mac operating system

Any ideas - I've searched the web
 

mauve

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
1,454
Location
Paris, France
I've got one like that. It's a spawn of the devil. I keep a Beige Mac G3 with system 8 alive especially for it.
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
I've got one like that. It's a spawn of the devil. I keep a Beige Mac G3 with system 8 alive especially for it.
I can always use my PC - Win XP - no problems - but I thought that the Mac would be "up to it" - but apparently not!!!

I still have an old iMac Graphite and a G3 somewhere in the loft
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
I've got one like that. It's a spawn of the devil. I keep a Beige Mac G3 with system 8 alive especially for it.
Mauve - how does this thing work

runs on the PC OK - BUT - I keep getting the Error = 36 "please set holder properly"

do you push the negative holder right into the unit and close the door - or does the unit pull the slide holder in and move it along

I've tried every way and still get the error message

tried it will Photoshop and as a stand alone

as you said "spawn of the devil" - beginning to "eat my words"

Cheers

Bill
 

mauve

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Mar 9, 2010
Messages
1,454
Location
Paris, France
Normally, you slightly push the holder inside until the scanner "grabs" it and pull it on its own. Looks like a hardware problem to me. From various reports, this isn't the most reliable piece of junk in the world, and sometimes opening it leads to loose dangling cables discoveries.

This said, if you manage to get it back to work with Minolta drivers, scan everything as colour slides. The driver will otherwise set too high the black point, drowning the shadows. The good thing with slides is the film base is 100% transparent, so the driver won't adjust the black point for you. Just invert the image if your doing colour film, and greyscale for b&w with a bit of curve tweaking afterward. Vuescan handles this much better.
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
Normally, you slightly push the holder inside until the scanner "grabs" it and pull it on its own. Looks like a hardware problem to me. From various reports, this isn't the most reliable piece of junk in the world, and sometimes opening it leads to loose dangling cables discoveries.

This said, if you manage to get it back to work with Minolta drivers, scan everything as colour slides. The driver will otherwise set too high the black point, drowning the shadows. The good thing with slides is the film base is 100% transparent, so the driver won't adjust the black point for you. Just invert the image if your doing colour film, and greyscale for b&w with a bit of curve tweaking afterward. Vuescan handles this much better.
Thanks Mauve - the small motor or whatever that pulls the holder into the unit does not appear to work - I think that it is quite noisy when it works - also the eject button does not work

I have tried it on three PCs - same results - non functioning unit - sets itself up OK, software wise, but then does not operate and throws out an error code

Oh well I thought that I had a "good buy" - so it's back to the gut who sold it to me, (not EBay), so I should be OK.

Cheers
 

LisaO

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
798
Location
New York Metro Area
Real Name
Lisa
First choice Vuescan trial, second choice virtual machine on your mac running windows. Classic won't work on intel Macs.
 

BillN

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jan 19, 2010
Messages
1,264
Location
SW France
First choice Vuescan trial, second choice virtual machine on your mac running windows. Classic won't work on intel Macs.
Thanks Lisa - tried it on three separate PC,s , (did not bother about the Mac although I have Parallel), with the Minolta software and also Vuescan - finds the scanner OK but the scanner will not "whirr" into life - most frustrating and I was looking forward to playing around with a few negative.
 

LisaO

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Mar 18, 2010
Messages
798
Location
New York Metro Area
Real Name
Lisa
Sounds like an issue with the scanner if If didn't work on 3 machines.

Thanks Lisa - tried it on three separate PC,s , (did not bother about the Mac although I have Parallel), with the Minolta software and also Vuescan - finds the scanner OK but the scanner will not "whirr" into life - most frustrating and I was looking forward to playing around with a few negative.
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom