Milky Way w/ EM10

Discussion in 'Astrophotography' started by marting24, Aug 2, 2014.

1. marting24

marting24 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 12, 2014
    Martin Gonzalez
    I was at Zion National Park earlier this month and really wanted to get some shots of some stars while I was there, so I went into the park late one night and did just that. I really didn't expect to get the Milky Way that night. It was all really just a bit of dumb luck that I stumbled upon it!

I saw some weird cloudy foggy area in the sky, above a mountain and figured I should shoot at it right before I left back to the hotel. (We didn't camp :smile:) When I saw the milky way appear on my EM10 after the exposure, I jumped in joy!

Next time I venture off to shoot some astrophotography, I really have to remember to take multiple shots so I can combine them later in post for less noise.

The image I'm posting was a bit underwhelming for me but I figure it is my first attempt, so I should be proud :yahoo:

Here it is!

[​IMG][/url]Milky Way by MGRX100, on Flickr[/IMG]

Question for any of you.

How do you go about editing your Astro Shots?

• Like Like x 13
  2. randyspan

randyspan Mu-43 Veteran

May 24, 2014
    New Hampshire, USA
    Randy Spann
    Info please! Lens? Exposure? great shot!

3. zlatko-photo

zlatko-photo Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 8, 2014
  4. marting24

marting24 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 12, 2014
    Martin Gonzalez
    Hey Randy, the lens used was the 12-40 and the exposure was at 25 seconds, ISO 1600 , and F 2.8

5. marting24

marting24 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 12, 2014
    Martin Gonzalez
    • Like Like x 1
  6. randyspan

randyspan Mu-43 Veteran

May 24, 2014
    New Hampshire, USA
    Randy Spann
    Well, here's my try - Milkyway (northern, starting from Cassiopeia)

14986528931_70ceff8631_o.

...lots of trial and error in PP! BCL 9mm (f/8) 40 seconds x 10 exposures and one black frame stacked.

• Like Like x 3
  7. drd1135

drd1135 Zen Snapshooter

Mar 17, 2011
    Southwest Virginia
    Steve