Micro 4/3 Camera to complement DSLR Kit.

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by Flamby, Jan 21, 2012.

1. Flamby

Flamby New to Mu-43

Jan 21, 2012
    Reading, UK
    Hello people,

First of all I'm sorry if this is repeating the same old question, I've been having a really good read through this forum and this section in particular for the last couple of weeks, so I thought as I'm nearing the point of buying a secondary camera I thought I'd get some direct advice from you knowledgeable lot :thumbup:

Right I think its best to start with a bit about what I do and what I currently use :)

I'm mainly an automotive photographer/videographer for two blogs, one based here in the UK and one in the USA, this allows me to have access to some great events here in the UK and across Europe so I do end up travelling around a lot. On occasion this leads me to have the opportunity to shoot for magazines but I actually find the blogging really rewarding and faster moving if that makes any sense :S
    My current kit is Canon 5DMk2, Canon 17-40 f4 L, Canon 24-70 f2.8 L, Canon 70-200 F2.8 IS L, Canon 85mm f1.8 & a Canon 50mm f1.4.
    As well as the cars I also love product photography and portraits which I'm able to do in a location that I converted for the job early last year.

So image quality is important to me.

In the past I've done the whole second DSLR body (7D & 30D before changing both for 5dmk2), thing is I get paid for what I do but I'm nearly always an assistant to a main photographer or videographer so I don't 100% need a back up DSLR. So this is a no go at the moment.

Considered a compact such as the S95. I've used my brothers G12 which is very similar on a lot of levels but for the money I can get an interchangeable lens system with better IQ and dof, which brings me to Micro 4/3...