1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Metz 44?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by RDKit, Apr 14, 2011.

1. RDKit

RDKit Mu-43 Rookie

I'm new to m4/3 and am looking for a flash (although I don't think I'll use it much). Seems like the Metz 44AF meets all my needs (recycles pretty fast, tilts & swivels, not too big).

I'd like to know of anyone's experience with this flash. I'm considering this for use on my GH2

2. shoturtle

shoturtle  

Oct 15, 2010
    I got it for the epl-1 and it is a nice unit. Love that it tilt and swivel. With full TTL on and off camera. To do most adjustment it is control from the camera.

3. RDKit

RDKit Mu-43 Rookie

Good to hear ... but

What's the build seem like - fit & finish, durability, etc? More thoughts or observations on its power and exposure.

Just want to learn from others about this flash before buying a new one (there don't seem to be any used ones that ever go for sale). Rather learn the easy way - your experience - than the hard way - my money:smile:

4. shoturtle

shoturtle  

Oct 15, 2010
    It is made in germany, very solid build. I have no complaints at all about the build quality. I like that it uses 4 batteries, which give it more life between recharge. The exposure seems pretty accurate. I personally prefer to shot at -1/3 to -2/3 flash EV and work on the restoring details in PP. I do the same with my canon system.

5. bilzmale

bilzmale Mu-43 All-Pro

A good unit - make sure you order the 4/3 (covers micro 4/3) unit as it comes in several brand specific flavours.

6. RDKit

RDKit Mu-43 Rookie

Thanks ... I'll remember

Thanks for the pointers & the reminder to get the right model.

Anyone have any problems or difficulty with this unit?

7. SRHEdD

SRHEdD Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 24, 2011
    Viera, Florida USA
    Steve
    I have it and LOVE it. Exactly as you say, good balance of size vs. power. Works flawlessly as a wireless unit too. Works perfectly on my D-LUX 5 as well.