1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Mavic or DJI Phatomm 3 Pro

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by D7k1, Oct 18, 2016.

1. D7k1

D7k1 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 18, 2013
    The refurbs on the DJI 3 Pro are only $750 while a Mavic with controller is $1K. While a refurb 3 pro looks like a great deal, the Mavic appears to be a much better drone and has the same key feature that made M43 my choice - small size. After the testers realized that you have to focus the Mavic the questions about its video quality were erased. I was thinking of getting an EM1 II but after reviewing what my video needs are, a drone is at the top of my list. Anyone here have a opinion between these two drones?

2. Speedliner

Speedliner Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 2, 2015
    Southern NJ, USA
    Rob
    I love the idea of a small, foldable drone. I've heard that the mavic'svideo IQ is inferior to other drones. I have no firsthand knowledge, but that might be something you want to look into.

3. D7k1

D7k1 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 18, 2013
    The latest reviews of the video seem to clarify that it was "pilot error" - this drone needs to be focused.Here is the second test by FlightTest - and I think it shows that video is very good. I often like to shoot flat and do grading and sharpness/contrast in post.

After watching it again (and again), I am becoming more and more convinced this is the Drone version of m43. I think I could get it , controller, my 2 Gx8 and lenses, Tascam D60/Video Mic Pro and other gear in my small LowPro back back for a very portable video system.

• Like Like x 1
  4. gryphon1911

gryphon1911 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Mar 13, 2014
    Central Ohio, USA
    Andrew
    The Mavic is still pretty new, so we are not sure what we are going to see as far as early adopter issues. Hopefully none.

There have been some expressing concern that the lighter weight of the Mavic may make it less optimal in higher wind scenarios.