Manual focus om-d series

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Jessestr, Jul 17, 2014.

1. Jessestr

Jessestr Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 7, 2014
    Hi all

So I'm planning to get an E-M10 next week or so. Not going to buy any m43 lenses yet, but just use my Leica lens on it.
    Does anyone here use it as a manual focus camera? How good does it work? Is it reliable? Is it fast?

Many thanks

2. Harvey Melvin Richards

Harvey Melvin Richards Photo Posting Junkie

Feb 15, 2014
    Southwest Utah
    I have 6 manual focus lenses that I occasionally use. The E-M10 can be set up so that manual focus can be easy to use. I personally prefer the auto-focus. Almost all of my M4/3 lenses are lighter than the manual focus glass. I have no experience with Leica lenses though.

3. Jessestr

Jessestr Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 7, 2014
    Do you experience problems with misfocusing?

4. Harvey Melvin Richards

Feb 15, 2014
    Southwest Utah
    It depends on the lens, and on how careful I am when focusing.

This was taken with the Olympus 50mm f/1.8. The spider web filament is in focus, so I can't be too unsatisfied with the focus here. I have no idea what aperture I was using, one problem with a fully manual lens.

14401368337_51d786dc07_b.
    M1019088
    by Harvey Richards, on Flickr​

• Like Like x 2
  5. ex machina

ex machina Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 3, 2014
    Northern Virgnia
  6. Jessestr

Jessestr Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 7, 2014
    Thanks. Looks way better than Fuji's focus peaking. I had their X-T1 to review and it was really difficult. With the three options they provided. All out of focus. Even when magnified en being very careful.

But one of my first cam's was a Nex and it worked pretty good.

Does it still work good when stopped down?

7. ex machina

ex machina Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 3, 2014
    Northern Virgnia
    Haven't actually tried Oly focus peaking myself but have read elsewhere on this forum that it works better stopped down; fwiw.

8. Transalp01