Made the jump to m4/3 from 5DII!

Discussion in 'Welcomes and introductions' started by canuck88, Oct 9, 2012.

1. canuck88

canuck88 New to Mu-43

Sep 20, 2012
    Hi everyone!

Former p/t pro photographer (on a hiatus after the birth of my 2nd child) here from Ontario, Canada.

I've been shooting on 5DII bodies for the past 4 years, and during that time have picked up a GF1 (with 14-45 and 20) and a Fuji X10 to fiddle around with. Decided last week to sell my Canon gear and buy an OM-D with grip, 12-50 (still have the Panny lenses). No turning back now! I'm definitely interested in the 45/1.8 (I used to shoot the Canon 85/1.2), but I think I'm going to wait until it's released in black.

What did it for me?

1. The size (lugging heavy equipment around when you have little kids is mental)
    2. The IBIS - especially for my legacy Minolta lenses and video
    3. The focus speed
    4. The low cost
    5. Better video than the Fuji X-Pro1/X-E1

At this point in my life having small kids, it's important that my camera produce photos and videos of good quality from the same unit. Nothing beats full-frame image quality in my opinion, but the OM-D seems to blend photo/video together perfectly (without the weight).

I'll still probably buy the X-E1/18-55mm kit when it comes out to compare, but for now I'm in like flynn with the OM-D!

Can't wait to test it out (and compare the 12-50/14-45)...
    • Like Like x 3
  2. danska

danska Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2012
    Portland, OR
    Nice! Welcome! Make sure you update to the latest firmware (1.5) to take advantage of the IBIS with video using your legacy glass.
  3. kjomedia

kjomedia New to Mu-43

Oct 9, 2012
    5Dmkii to GF3

Congrats! Thinking about doing the same thing. Except with a GF3.
  4. Wolf

Wolf Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 14, 2012
    Welcome !

@ Danska : Is fw 1.5 a good update ?
    i'm gonna get my om-d soon too and should i update instantly ?
  5. tdekany

tdekany Mu-43 All-Pro

Dec 8, 2011