1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Macro question

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by scottz, Jun 26, 2011.

1. scottz

scottz Mu-43 Regular

Jun 18, 2011
    Littleton, CO
    I'm still new to MFT, and I'm trying to understand this. I know if I get a 105mm macro, it will be a 210mm equivalent. What I don't know, is, if the lens is 1:1 in macro on 35mm, what will it be for the MFT?

Thanks,

Scott

2. photoSmart42

photoSmart42 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 12, 2010
    San Diego, CA
    1:1 is 1:1 regardless of the crop factor. You just see less of the image because of the crop, but at 1:1 you'd expect to fill your image with an object roughly 17x13mm in size.

• Like Like x 1
  3. carpandean

carpandean Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 29, 2010
    Western NY
    I'll take a stab at it ...

It's 210mm equivalent, because you are cropping the middle of the image. However, the image projected on the sensor plane is the same and thus will be the same scale (1:1). You are simply collecting a smaller piece of it.

Edit: PS42 beat me to it.

4. Hikari

Hikari Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 26, 2010
    I don't know. What format do you use the 105mm on? APS-C? 35mm? 6x7? I would drop the crop factor thing and simply work in your format. Format never changes focal length, just angle of view. Simply take the focal length and divide by the diagonal of the sensor to get angular magnification.

Magnification is defined by object size to image size at the sensor plane. At 1:1 your field equals your chip size.

• Like Like x 1
  5. pxpaulx

pxpaulx Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 19, 2010
    Midwest
    Paul
    Someone asked this question quite awhile ago - I took some photos for them so they could get a better grasp. Essentially 1:1 means what Hikari said - if the sensor is 1 inch squared, the image the macro lens will capture will be 1 inch squared in the photo (for instance, a $0.25 quarter will approximately fill the frame).