m43 vs APS-C vs FFrame: The issue of diffraction?

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by gdourado, Jul 18, 2012.

1. gdourado

gdourado Mu-43 Regular

Feb 23, 2012
    Lisbon - Portugal
    Hello,

How are you?
    Today I was reading a blog about photography and then I started reading about diffraction.
    From what I understood, it is a phenomenon that makes the images softer and it is related with the lens build, aperture, sensor size and pixel size.

From what I understood, in m43 cameras using the 12 mpx sensors, the pixels have a size of approximately 4.3µm, which makes diffraction an issue at apertures narrower than f7.1...

The 16 mpx sensors apear to have a pixel size of 3.7µm and so, diffraction may appear at apertures narrower than f6.3...

Now, I am not an expert in physics or electronics, but from what I understood, this issue is in direct relation to pixel size...

If we currently have APS-C sensors with 24 mpx and FF sensors with 36 mpx, the pixel sizes have to be pretty small on those sensors, so diffraction would also be an issue at relative open apertures...

It seems, altough, that the lens design of Full Frame lenses that are then used also on APS-C sensors, make diffraction less of an issue on those formats...

This all got my head spinning pretty fast today, and since I cannot really make much of all this, I started this thread to hear your thoughts on this...

Have you ever had diffraction be an issue on your images with m43?
    Are APS-C and FF system less prone to diffraction?
    What are your general thoughts on this?

Hope to hear from you.
    Cheers!

• Like Like x 1
  2. Hikari

Hikari Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 26, 2010
    The problem of diffraction has nothing to do with pixel size, but format size. Format defines the smallest aperture before diffraction impacts the permissible circle of confusion. This is why as format increases, the smallest aperture that can be used gets smaller.

3. silversx80

silversx80 Mu-43 Veteran