M Zuiko Digital 14-42 Vs Soligor M42 Wide 28mm 2.8

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by bball12, May 17, 2012.

1. bball12

bball12 New to Mu-43

May 15, 2012
    Hi Everyone,

I am new to photography, but I love to learn.

I have both the M Zuiko kit lens and a m42 soligor 28mm 2.8.

I am wondering if the M Zuiko is also a wide angle lens like the Soligor? Taking out the aspect of AF in the Zuiko, is the Zuiko a better than the Soligor in terms of optics?

I still have not realized the full use of the Zuiko, so far I have noticed that it is not a strong performer in low light conditions compared to the Soligor.

Thanks for your feedback!

2. Declan97

Declan97 Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 3, 2012
    Padang, Indonesia
    I also new using mft 14-42 msc 2nd version came with epl2,I found it performed great.

For wide this 14 is absolutely wider than your 28prime but you wanna try to test on the 28fl to check the result

Sent from my GT-I9100 using EP-L 2

3. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands
    Multiply the focal length by 2 to get the '35 mm equivalent'. Focal length is a physical property and unrelated to the size of the sensor per se.

Translated into '35mm film'/'full frame' terms, this is how I classify focal lengths:

Fisheye: non-rectilinear (straight lines not straight), usually 15mm. Special case
    Ultrawide: focal length below 24mm
    Wide: focal length 24 to 35mm
    Normal: focal length 35 to 70mm
    Telephoto: everything longer

It's a gradual scale, but that's roughly where it ends up. Your 28mm lens is firmly a 'normal' lens and nowhere near wide. Each mm of focal length has a significantly larger impact on how 'wide' the field of view is in the wide-angle range than in the telephoto range - the relative (percentage) difference is much more significant.