m 4/3 vs APS-C

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by mesmerized, Oct 31, 2012.

1. mesmerized

mesmerized Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 18, 2012

I like my E-PL1. I do. I really do. I'm just an amateur... and sometimes it feels like I'm more into the whole technology factor rather than pics themselves. Anyway, I've been here in China for quite a while and I have noticed that people buy DSLRs a lot. But that's not exactly the point I wanna inquire about... I just want to hear your opinions on the system factor. There are so many cameras on the market and I'm thinking about getting myself something new...

What makes you choose a m 4/3 rather than for example a NEX-5 with an APS-C sensor? Aren't the latter ones simply better when it comes to picture quality?
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Promit

Promit Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 6, 2011
    Baltimore, MD
    Promit Roy
    The EM5 slightly beats out the NEX-5N for image quality (and all APS-C Canons too). The E-PL5/E-PM2 are rumored to be even better. I don't find a dramatic depth of field difference either. I don't find it's productive to get hung up on sensor sizes, because they simply don't provide much useful information about a camera.

Plus, have you ever USED a NEX? It's a very... unique experience and a lot of us have a lot of difficulty adapting to their peculiar outlook on the world.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Geoff3DMN

Geoff3DMN Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 29, 2012
    Castlemaine, Victoria, Australia
    I have both APS-C DSLR and micro 4/3 cameras, the DSLR is much better at tracking fast moving motor bikes across multiple shots but the form factor of the micro 4/3rds camera means I carry it a lot more and use it more.

The difference in quality isn't the defining difference to me, it's firstly the weight and secondly the multi-shot tracking difference.
  4. mesmerized

mesmerized Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 18, 2012
    Thanks Geoff.