Lumix G Vario 14-140mm as Replacement for both 12-32mm and 45-150mm for Travel - What are the cons?

Jack Parker

New to Mu-43
Hi all,

This is my first post here. I found a post about the 14-140mm but I'd appreciate some specific advice about my situation that I didn't see covered there.

I am currently on a Panasonic DMC-GX80 (GX85 in US, same camera) with two lenses - a 12-32mm and a 45-150mm (links to official product pages). I also have the Olympus 60mm macro, but that feels separate to this discussion.

I am planning on doing a LOT of travelling over the next couple of years and I find it slightly frustrating having to constantly switch between the two lenses as I spin between landscapes/far away wildlife every few minutes. And at times I'll want to pack light. Hence the 14-140mm feels like the perfect solution so I have nearly the same range in one lens.

I'm a fairly amateur photographer taking my first or second attempt towards intermediate, and trying to figure out if there are any downsides to ditching my current two lenses for the 14-140mm. The lack of 12-14mm and 140-150mm feels marginal. The f/3.5-5.6 is the same aperture range as my 12-32mm.

I'd appreciate if anyone is aware of what I'd be losing, if anything, before I go ahead and make the investment.

Also, a side question to help me make that first step out of the amateur realm... I understand that f-stop is aperture. When I am using my lenses, the f-stop won't go below the number advertised on the product. i.e. the 12-32mm won't go below f/3.5 when I'm using it... makes sense. However even though the advertised upper f-stop is 5.6, the camera happily lets me go all the way up to 22. So what does that 5.6 limitation actually mean in practice?

Thanks! - Jack

JensM

Mu-43 All-Pro
Real Name
As screename