Lumix 20mm f1.7 for my existing EPL-1 or buy a new EPL-3 for the same price?

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by singaporegirl, Dec 12, 2012.

1. singaporegirl

singaporegirl New to Mu-43

Dec 12, 2012
    Hi there -

I'm going to apologize in advance for my lack of knowledge, as I'm pretty new to the whole world of Micro 4/3 and for that matter, photography in general.

I bought an EPL-1 a year ago which came with a 14-42mm kit lens and a zoom lens (M.Zuiko ED 14-150mm f/4-5.6). The main reason for buying this camera was to take pictures of my very active 5 year old boy indoors, and sadly the kit lens isn't very good.

After doing a bit of research I saw that the Panasonic 20mm f1.7 lens would be a good choice for low light photos, so I'm strongly considering that. However, at $350 for the lens, I'm wondering if i should just spend an extra $100 and buy a new m4/3 camera, since there are m4/3 cameras around that price range (such as the EPL-3 or the Lumix Gf5).

I'm not familiar with whether these m4/3 cameras I mention come with a better kit lens than the EPL-1 kit lens (which isn't working for me).

Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated! Am i just better off using the 20mm f/1.7 on the EPL-1, or just buy a new m4/3. I would ideally like to keep within my budget of $400-$450.

2. drd1135

drd1135 Zen Snapshooter

Mar 17, 2011
    Southwest Virginia
    The trade off here is between faster AF on the E-PL3 and the higher shutter speed you could use with the faster lens. Given that you're indoors, I would go with the lens. The sensor and IQ are very similar with the E-PL3 and E-PL1. Just to point out, you could get an E-PM2 with a better sensor for $450, but I would still go with the lens.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. fin azvandi

fin azvandi Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 12, 2011
    Madison, WI