Lumix 14mm/2.5 vs Lumix 14-45mm/3.5-5.6

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by Reversed, Mar 2, 2012.

1. Reversed

Reversed New to Mu-43

Feb 22, 2012
    Hello all!

I just recently got into the micro 4/3 world by purchasing a GF2 with the 14mm pancake lens.

It is the only lens I have at the moment, and for a while, I won't be able to purchase another one. I love the 14mm so far, but I am not sure if I should be using it as my only lens, seeing how it is a wide angle.

Would it be beneficial in this situation to trade it for a 14-45mm for a more versatile lens?

I am still learning, so for questions like "What do you shoot?", I would have to say I am still exploring, I don't really know yet.

Of course, I plan on having both later (or the 20mm), but for now (and the near future), I'm only able to have one.

What do you guys think?
  2. D@ne

D@ne Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 23, 2012
    I'm in the same boat as you, and I say that having the tiny 14mm will allow you (or at least me) to pocket the camera more easily, and thus use it more often. A bit of a skewed way of thinking, but in practical use, the 14-42 is bulkier.

I'll let the pros opine on the technical differences between the two.
  3. Vivalo

Vivalo Olympus Loser

Nov 16, 2010
    Panny 20 is a no-brainer. Or if you want the max reach of the 14-42 get the oly 45mm. Almost only trade-off would be the occasional lens changes and maybe the initial costs, but you will get the 20 and 45 anyway sooner or later so why not sooner? :tongue:
  4. zucchiniboy

zucchiniboy Mu-43 Regular

Oct 13, 2010
    San Francisco
    The 45mm 1.8 is a great companion for the 14mm, I used just those two today with one in my pocket, and it was fantastic. The 20 is a great lens too, but you can create more of a different look with the 45 at a similar price point too.
  5. sin77

sin77 Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 9, 2011
    I was trying to get rid of my kit lens yet u want to buy one.