1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

low light video help

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by mzd, Nov 1, 2011.

1. mzd

mzd Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 30, 2010
    Wisconsin
    Ok, so I feel pretty competent at the technical side of still photography, but I have little experience with video.
    My set up was my GF1 w/ the 20mm and a tripod. I used MF since the subject (jazz band) isn't moving front to back and I didn't want the AF hunting.
    The room is very dark (needing approx 1 sec exposure for a properly exposed still).
    I did a quick search for movie tips with the GF1 in low light and someone suggested using Shutter Speed priority at 1/30 and I believe Nostalgic film mode, so I used that. I think ISO was at 400. I didn't really have time to do a lot of testing before hand. I did also push the exposure comp up a notch or two.
    Here are the results:

[ame=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ApkhYQ91BSE]FPJC - Mercy Mercy Mercy, The Chicken - YouTube[/ame]
    (you can view it 720p (click on Watch on Youtube) for the best quality youtube offers)

So, please offer any suggestions on what I could have done differently in this setting? (The audio obviously came from an external source and was added in post.)
    Overall the results are passable for basic video capture of an event, but the quality is really low, imo. I'm looking for any suggestions to improve it.

2. kevinparis

kevinparis Cantankerous Scotsman

Feb 12, 2010
    Gent, Belgium
    couple of things

!) Don't have a GF-1 but do have an e-p1 which is of a similar generation - and in that I have no control over ISO when in movie mode. You may have thought you had set iso 400, but it may have pushed that to get the exposure - hence the noise

2) The lighting is doing you no favours at all - sometimes there just in's enough light

3) your focus seems off - more oriented to the back wall than the performers at the front

K

3. mzd

mzd Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 30, 2010
    Wisconsin