Low-cost lenses for film?

Discussion in 'Filmmaking' started by Manu-4Vendetta, Jul 8, 2011.

1. Manu-4Vendetta

Manu-4Vendetta Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jul 8, 2011
    Dominican Republic
    Hi, I'm a filmmaker aspiring and will buy a GH1.

Right now i have a limited budget, i think buy a kit lens 14-15, but would like to know which lenses low-cost (legacy or another system) can be useful for cinema with acepptable results.

I was seeing the forum, checking the pictures and i have noted the following lenses:

• SMC Pentax 50mm F1.4
    • Konica AR Hexanon 28mm F3
    • Pentax 55mm M42 F1.8
    • Pentax M50 F1.7
    • Pentax-k 55mm F1.8
    • Minolta MD 85mm F2
    • Konica 50mm F1.7
    • Olympus OM F.Zuiko 50mm F1.8
    • Olympus Zuiko OM 50mm F1.4
    • Super-Takumar 50mm F1.4
    • Nikon 50mm Series E F1.8
    • Nikon 28mm Series E F2.8

But only can buy four cheap lenses and i don't know if these work well on film like at pictures. Recommendations and what generic adapters for them please.

PD: Forgive me for my bad english
    • Like Like x 1
  2. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    I have been told that NYU film students prize the Pentax Super Takumar 50/1.4 for that sort of thing. I have not personally tried it so I cannot verify it.
  3. Manu-4Vendetta

Jul 8, 2011
    Dominican Republic
    Thank you, Pentax seem very interesting.
  4. jesselavender

jesselavender New to Mu-43

Jul 7, 2011
    I personally have the Olympus Zuiko OM 50mm F1.4, and it's a beautiful lens. I picked it up on eBay for $40. Just keep in mind that all of these lenses are going to double in focal length. So that 50 turns into a 100m which is great for some areas of video, but not all. I love the Olympus because it's so small that it fits easily in my pocket.

Also, check out a Vivitar 28mm f/2.5. It's super cheap and creates really awesome lens flares. I really only use it for the flare aspect, but it was $30, so why not.