1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

looking to test out legacy lenses on my new g2

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by steini, Sep 27, 2010.

1. steini

steini New to Mu-43

Sep 23, 2010
    Madison, WI
    Hi, I just bought a g2 and am considering buying a legacy lens or two. I saw in a local repair shop some inexpensive lenses but don't know what to buy and what adapter I would need.

I am wondering if anyone has advice on the following lenses.

Olympus zukio 50mm f1.4
    Sigma 100-3-- four simga auto focus
    cpc 28 mm f2.8 for minolta md.

These wer all priced between $25-$90.

since I am new to this and looking for experience i would be grateful for any advice.

Greg

2. deirdre

deirdre Mu-43 Top Veteran

Aug 9, 2010
    You won't get autofocus with any Sigma lenses (or any legacy lenses).

I started with this page, and thus I bought a couple of lenses he used, specifically the Canon FD 50mm f/1.4 (one of the best lenses ever). KEH has a few of them. (There are others of that specific lens in various eras I didn't link to....)

You can do it two ways: stick with one mount to minimize number of adaptors, or just go for "best of class" in each. The adapted lenses section will have descriptions and pictures.

Here's one I took with the above-mentioned Canon.

UCSC Arboretum 8/22: - 18 by Deirdre Saoirse Moen, on Flickr

• Like Like x 1
  3. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    I just did the same thing

I started off with Olympus lenses (seemed like a natural to go with my EPL-1) but I tried a few others and found I preferred the look of old Konica Hexanon and Pentax Super Takumar lenses (but that is purely subjective). You can find m43 to what-have-you adapters on eBay with decent ones running around $30. I buy from a group called rainbowimaging and have been pleased with the service and quality.