Looking to Join m43 - Maybe

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by BAUlicht, Sep 18, 2012.

1. BAUlicht

BAUlicht New to Mu-43

Sep 18, 2012
    San Diego, CA
    Brian
    Hello All,
    I'm new to the forum, though I have been reading it for a while. I have always been intrigued with m43 and I'm thinking of switching from my Canon gear. I'm not a professional, so I can only afford to maintain one system. I'm mostly interested in still photography with video being an added extra, but not necessary. I shoot a lot of architecture, landscape, and portraits/lifestyle shots. The smaller, lighter system the m43 is also a major factor for me switching - I'm tired of lugging around heavy gear. I guess my question to you is what are your impressions of m43 and what gear may be a good fit for me? Also, what are your impressions of the Fuji system, as this is also in the running (I know this is a m43 website, but I've seen many people on here use both Fuji and m43)? Thank you for all your help and I look forward to being in the forum more often now that I've joined :smile:

2. zapatista

zapatista Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 19, 2012
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Mike
    For stills and wide angle (landscapes, etc..) m43 will be excellent. Wide variety of lenses and contrast detect auto focus is great for everything you contemplate shoooting. I've hever used the Fuji X-Pro system extensively though IQ on the whole tends to be better. Focusing isn't too great in my experience.

3. yekimrd

yekimrd Mu-43 All-Pro

Jun 14, 2012
    Cincinnati, OH
    Mikey
    Welcome! There are tons of helpful members here. Hopefully, we can convince you to come over and give the system a go.