Looking into m43

Usemygoodeye

Mu-43 Veteran
Hello

I'm just an amateur. I have been shooting with an old Sony a77 Mk I for a few years. I have the Sony 70-300mm F4-5.6 G SSM II, and the Sony DT -16-50mm f2.8 SSM (Kit). I love what I have been able to do with this setup, but it's getting a lot harder to lug around such a beast of a camera.

I'd immediately thought of going with a Sony a6000 series - until I looked at one.
I want something smaller scale and lighter weight that still offers excellent image quality.

Funds are limited too, so not going for the top end of things.

I've really enjoyed reading up on the Oly EM5 MkII and the 12-40 Pro lens. I'm wondering though if I should wait a bit to see if a MkIII is announced.

I'm here to research and learn. m43 seems like a great option for my photography.

wjiang

Mu-43 Legend
I personally find the 12-40 a tad front-heavy to be using comfortably with a limited grip like on the E-M5s, though YMMV

Consider pairing the 12-40 with the 40-150R f/4-5.6 as a kit. The kit telephoto is actually very good and such a bargai.

retiredfromlife

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Also have a look at the Panasonic G85 / G80 depending where you buy. The menu's and touch screens interfaces are very different between brands and don't be afraid to mix and match both Olympus & Panasonic unless you are after a full weather resistant system where it may then be better to stick with one brand. If you can look at both brands in a shop more than once.

DynaSport

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
Dan