Looking forward to re-building my m43 kit

uphillslide

New to Mu-43
I've been shooting with a GH2 for 2 years now. It served me well on vacations and work travel. I got a number of great pics, lots of snapshots, captured key moments in my nieces' early lives and got lots of high bit rate video (thanks to driftwood's hacks made possible by vitally). I got distracted along the way by the Nikon D800e and built a big (and expensive :rolleyes:) kit around that camera. Sure I got loads of quality pictures and the dynamic range is bonkers, but I missed the portability and fun of the smaller system. So I grabbed a Sony RX100. This little gem sapped up the majority of my travel-light shooting for the last year. But there are things I can't do well with that camera. With a baby of my own coming along shortly I am really anxious to get my hands on something that represents the best compromise possible. I've almost pulled the trigger on an EM-5 several times. I have a GX-7 preordered. And it looks like a really nice balance of form and function. Now this EM-1 is announced. Paired with the 12-40, it looks like it might be the sweet spot. But it's coming out a bit late for me due to the pending birth of my child.

I'm really excited about getting the GX7. I hope it can do everything I want it to do. The form factor is what truly inspires me. A few months later, the EM-1 looks like the workhorse that could finally make me complete my m43 kit.

All this to say, what a wonderful time to have a few great lenses (20 1.7, 45 1.8, 7-14), a baby, and a passion for photography. I'm deciding between the 75 and the 60 macro right now, but I'm leaning towards the macro to get those close up shots of the little guy.

jmax

Mu-43 Regular
Hi uphillslide,
as a recent parent of two childs, for the purpose of taking pictures to children, I reccomend you the faster lens you can get. An stabilized body/lenses will be necessary because the babyes don't usually stay quite for portraits.