Looking for suggestions on cheap lenses

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by dhewie84, Apr 1, 2013.

1. dhewie84

dhewie84 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 23, 2013
    I've read about the cheap cctv lenses, but they seem to have a pretty small area for getting sharp pictures. Are there any others that I can look into? I'm new to this, but I'm looking for something to use in low light that is faster than the kit lens for quicker subjects. I'm gathering I would want something at least an F2. Not sure yet what focal length I would want, but I'm thinking 30-40mm is probably the longest. Not sure what most lenses can be had for, but around $50 (including an adapter would be even better) or less would be a nice start. Thanks!
  2. Lawrence A.

Lawrence A. Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 14, 2012
    New Mexico
    You can get a good adapter for around $30, sometime less. Make sure it stops the manual focus lens down when you set the aperture.

You could probably get a decent 50mm legacy lens for under $50. It would be manual focus. They made tons of them in film days, and they are often among the best lenses for any given system. You can get a good Olympus OM Zuiko 50mm f1.8 on ebay for under $50, probably a lot under. Some sellers will try to sell this lens at a premium, but don't pay it. The fotodiox adapter for it is being sold right now on Amazon for around $16. And there are examples on ebay for around $30. I use both the adapter and lens.

You might get other brands for the same price. I shot OM film cameras so know more about that system.

Bear in mind that a 50mm on the m4/3 sensor is a telephoto lens, equivilent to the FOV of a 100mm lens on a 35mm camera. And don't just buy the cheapest adapter you find. Fotodiox is good; I'm sure others have brands they can recommend. But some of the cheapest ones are real junk and won't allow the lens to focus on infinity. Some lack aperture functionality.
  3. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA