Looking for advice regarding LR5 upgrade: cloud or not

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by quatchi, Apr 15, 2014.

1. quatchi

quatchi Mu-43 Veteran

May 17, 2012
    Munich, Germany

I am currently owning LR4 and am quite happy with it. There are some features of LR5, however, why I am considering the upgrade to LR5 (e.g., E-M5 color profiles).

Now, that's where my real troubles begin. :) Should I get an upgrade to my current LR (stand alone buy version) or should I go for the $9.99 Photography (LR + Photoshop) cloud thing Adobe is offering? I know that the Adobe Cloud has been discussed a lot around the web, but I am interested to hear from fellow m43 shooters, what you think about that matter. Were you facing a similar decision? What are your thoughts on the Adobe cloud? Are you realizing any benefits over the stand alone version?

My background:
    I am a complete amateur, shooting for fun without any kind of revenue. Therefore, no benefit in tax deduction with the monthly plan.
    I have access to Photoshop CS6 (not on my machine). I am, however, not using it very often lately - only sparsely for some panorama stitches.
    I have an iPad Air with 128GB and was looking forward to the mobile LR version. After the initial press release and reports I am currently not so impressed with it (haven't tried it, though). I hoped for an app which lets you import pictures on the road (backup stays on the SD cards on longer trips, e.g., holidays) and some preliminary editing before syncing anything to the desktop version when back home.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
  2. Itchybiscuit

Itchybiscuit Photon Mangler

Dec 10, 2013
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I can't say anything intelligent about Adobe Cloud as I've never tried it but today Adobe released a version update for Lightroom 5 from v5.3 to v5.4.

I have downloaded but not applied it as yet.

Good luck with your ultimate choice! :thumbup:
  3. D7k1

D7k1 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 18, 2013