Looking for a simple JPEG-Rotating tool

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Stephan, Jun 7, 2010.

1. Stephan

Stephan Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 21, 2010
    Stavanger (Norway)
    Hi you all!

I'm a relative newbie concerning digital photography. I might make now a stupid assumption, or ask something obvious, so please bear with me. :redface:

When I rotate pictures (jpeg straight out of camera) and save them again I notice that the filesize decreases quite a bit using different software (Windows viewer, Photofunstudio 4.0 from Panasonic, IrfanView). As the resolution stays the same there must be some extra compression happening within the respective programs, most probably with extra loss of picture information.

My questions:
    1. Am I right in the first place? Or am I being stupid?
    2. Is there a simple program around that allows me to rotate pictures (+-90 degrees) and save them again to the hard disc, without loosing picture information (and keep the EXIF data as well)?
    3. I have the feeling that at least IrfanView should be able to handle lossless picture rotation, but I can't find anything about that. Am I missing something?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Greetings from Stavanger, Stephan

2. Brian S

Brian S Mu-43 Top Veteran Charter Member

Apr 11, 2009
    As of late, I've been using Windows Explorer in XP and Win 7 to rotate JPEGS.

and it does reduce the image quality if the picture is too big, I'm glad you brought this up!

I will check on a different machine as well, the one now is somewhat limited for memory.

3. mauve

mauve Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 9, 2010
    Paris, France
    I think you shouldn't rotate them with a graphic tool (which will effectively rewrite hence recompress your datas in jpeg), but rather insert an exif value to indicate camera orientation and subsequently let graphical viewers which are exif aware do on-screen rotation but not image rotation.