Lightroom Recovery story

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by WT21, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. WT21

    WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Feb 19, 2010
    The other day, I was trying to do some large scale adjustments in Lightroom and stupidly applied "auto tone" to my entire library! Found out a little too late, and was unable to undo it.

    Was feeling pretty dumb about that, and frustrated, but I came across this little bit: How do I restore a Lightroom backup? | The Lightroom Queen

    By opening my last catalog backup, I wiped out "auto tone" from all my pictures! There were some additions I had made since my last backup, so I had to "synchronize" all my folders to incorporate the new pictures, but that just takes a few seconds to bring in the pictures I had added previously. Photoshop Lightroom

    Lovin the backup!
    • Like Like x 2
  2. krugorg

    krugorg Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Jul 18, 2011
    Minnesota USA
    Good to know - thanks!
  3. hanzo

    hanzo Mu-43 Veteran

    Jan 22, 2010
    Real Name:

    Lightroom keep tracks of the changes, unless you deliberately clear all the history. If you are in develop module, theres a history panel there, and you can rollback your changes.
  4. WT21

    WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

    Feb 19, 2010
    On an image-by-image basis. Not for the entire library. Plus, by restoring the catalog from backup, I removed the "autotone" completely from the history.