Lightroom 5 & Photoshop CC Reading Materials

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Aushiker, Sep 22, 2014.

1. Hi

I am chasing any suggestions on quality reading material (i.e., good old books or iBooks I guess) that would be useful for a complete novice with Lightroom 5 and Photoshop CC.

I have plunged the library at work and whilst I can get interlibrary loans on various listed texts to see if they work for me (and access to electronic books - 14 day loans) I wouldn’t mind my own hard copy resources.

So if you have any suggestions on texts you have found useful please do let me know.

Thanks
    Andrew

2. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    Lightroom 5: Martin Evening's "The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5 Book". Also Jeff Schewe's "The Digital Negative" which basically just covers processing. It's also over a year old and is more Lightroom 4 vintage but Lightroom 5 is basically Lightroom 4 with a few new features like a radial gradient feature. Nothing in "The Digital Negative" is out of date for LR5, there's just some things in LR5 that don't get covered. I find the combination of these 2 books work for me for Lightroom.

I don't use Photoshop so I can't make any suggestions there for you.

As well as the above books I've found the Luminous Landscape basic and advanced video sets for Lightroom quite valuable.

3. biomed

biomed Mu-43 Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Aug 22, 2013
    Seattle area
    Mike
    Scott Kelby has some excellent books on LR and PS.

4. dpaultx

dpaultx Mu-43 Regular

Jan 19, 2014
    North TX
    Having also started out as a "novice" in the digital world (but with over 40 years of experience in the world of "film"), one of the better beginners books that I found was;

Teach Yourself Photoshop: The Complete Guide to CS and CC for Photographers by George Cairns

[​IMG]