Lightroom 5 & Photoshop CC Reading Materials

Aushiker

Super Moderator
Real Name
Andrew
Hi

I am chasing any suggestions on quality reading material (i.e., good old books or iBooks I guess) that would be useful for a complete novice with Lightroom 5 and Photoshop CC.

I have plunged the library at work and whilst I can get interlibrary loans on various listed texts to see if they work for me (and access to electronic books - 14 day loans) I wouldn’t mind my own hard copy resources.

So if you have any suggestions on texts you have found useful please do let me know.

Thanks
Andrew

David A

Mu-43 All-Pro
Lightroom 5: Martin Evening's "The Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5 Book". Also Jeff Schewe's "The Digital Negative" which basically just covers processing. It's also over a year old and is more Lightroom 4 vintage but Lightroom 5 is basically Lightroom 4 with a few new features like a radial gradient feature. Nothing in "The Digital Negative" is out of date for LR5, there's just some things in LR5 that don't get covered. I find the combination of these 2 books work for me for Lightroom.

I don't use Photoshop so I can't make any suggestions there for you.

As well as the above books I've found the Luminous Landscape basic and advanced video sets for Lightroom quite valuable.

dpaultx

Mu-43 Regular
Having also started out as a "novice" in the digital world (but with over 40 years of experience in the world of "film"), one of the better beginners books that I found was;

Teach Yourself Photoshop: The Complete Guide to CS and CC for Photographers by George Cairns

i55017_teach-yourself-photoshop-2014.jpg
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Cairns starts out simple, at "the beginning", and then progresses, slowly, trough the entire Photoshop experience. Short of sitting through an actual advanced "class", it's pretty hard to beat.

I think that there is also a DVD and even an iPhone app that follows along with the book.

dp

YantaYo

Mu-43 Regular