Let's talk about off camera flash...

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by gdourado, Jun 19, 2012.

1. gdourado

gdourado Mu-43 Regular

Feb 23, 2012
    Lisbon - Portugal

How are you?
    So, I was wondering...
    If I want to start playing with off camera flash in Micro Four Thirds, what are my options?
    In regard to this matter for m43 I'm a total noob, but would like to know what options are there to do multi flash photography and off camera flash for portraits, product and package photography and the likes...

2. c_henry

c_henry Mu-43 Regular

May 12, 2012
    Well, there's two of ways you can do it:

1. With a cable.
    2. With some sort of wireless triggering system.

For both methods you can use manual flash settings or TTL flash settings depending on the type of cable or wireless triggering system in use.

Using the flash in manual means that you set the flash power on the flash and the shutter speed and aperture on the camera (there's a but more to it than that but I'm trying to keep it simple). With TTL the camera sets everything (I'm keeping it simple remember).

The cable method has the advantage of being traditionally cheaper than wireless, though eBay will demonstrate that its not always the case.

With cables you can get a simple cable that just triggers a flash in manual mode, or you can purchase a TTL cable which will make the camera believe that the flash is still mounted in the hot shoe on the camera and it will set everything.

Wireless triggers work in pretty much the same way as the cable, but wireless. You place a transmitter on top of the camera, and the receiver on the flash. In with wireless triggers that work in manual mode you would again set the flash power on the flash, and the shutter speed and aperture on the camera, just like the manual cable. It's very simple and works very well. Examples of this type of trigger are the Cactus v5's.