1. Welcome to Mu-43.com—a friendly Micro 4/3 camera & photography discussion forum!

If you are thinking of buying a camera or need help with your photos, you will find our forum members full of advice! Click here to join for free!

Lens selection for Chicago Marathon?

Discussion in 'Street, Documentary, and Portrait' started by homebrewdude, Oct 5, 2012.

1. homebrewdude

homebrewdude Mu-43 Regular

Sep 26, 2012
    I am new to 43's and new to the lenses.

I have an OM-D camera.
    50-200mm/2.8~3.5 olympus or
    100-300mm 4.0~5.6 Panasonic

I think the Panny is too long, but the focus is quick/accurate
    I am worried about the Olympus focus speed, but I should have a faster shutter speed.

I am leaning towards the Olympus 50-200mm, for shots of the people running (people I know)

Then bring my 20mm for the before/after race shots.

2. MAubrey

MAubrey Photographer

Jul 9, 2012
    Bellingham, WA
    Mike Aubrey
    Unless you're incredibly fast with manual focusing, you're not going to get much with the 50-200mm. The Panasonic is probably your best bet, if the long reach is what you want.

Personally, I think I'd go with the Olympus 75mm f/1.8.

3. danska

danska Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2012
    Portland, OR
    Joe
    If you think the 100-300 might be too long, maybe consider the 45-175 Panasonic. I'm thinking the 50-200 4/3 lens might be frustrating in an environment like this to work with. Not sure you could find a non-swd version of the 50-200 for cheaper than the 45-175. Granted, the Pansonic lens doesn't have a super fast aperture, but you'll have plenty of light and IBIS plus a wide ISO range. The 45-175 is supposed to be sharp at the long end and that will give you quite a bit of reach, especially considering you have the OM-D and can crop a decent amount. This lens is under $300 from Amazon right now.

4. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    SoCal