Lens Recommendation Please

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by bullmrkt, Feb 22, 2011.

1. bullmrkt

bullmrkt Mu-43 Regular

Jan 9, 2011
    I am a project manager for a general contractor that specializes in military construction, and I'm looking for a wide angle lens for my GH2 for architectural shots both inside and out.

So far I've been looking at the Panasonic 7-14mm/4 zoom, 14mm/2.5, and 8mm/3.5 fisheye. The fisheye has its obvious disadvantages, but the super wide angle field of view would be handy to capture large areas, like the enormous anechoic chamber I am working on now as part of a project at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. Which brings up another point, low light ability indoors. The fastest lens here is the 14mm/2.5, and the other 2 are pretty slow. So overall the 14mm/2.5 seems like a good choice, and its relatively inexpensive.

Any thoughts or other ideas are appreciated. Thanks!

-Ian

2. Danny_Two

Danny_Two Mu-43 Regular

Oct 30, 2010
    London
    What about the Olympus 9-18? Not quite as wide as the 7-14 but still an ultra wide and considerably cheaper. Not that bright though, f4 at the wide end.

Here's an example of the kind of width you'll get with the Olympus at 9mm.

p545573154-3.

• Like Like x 1
  3. sphexx

sphexx Mu-43 Regular

Feb 19, 2010
    Harrogate, Yorkshire
    If you have the 20mm you can add a 0.7 wide angle adapter and get a 1.7 14mm.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Narnian

Narnian Nobody in particular ...

Aug 6, 2010
    Midlothian, VA
    Richard Elliott
    My first thought is who is paying for it? Buy them all if it is cost plus. ;)

Can you add some artificial light?

The 7-14 gives you flexibility in tight areas you would not have with the 14/2.5.

And would you be able to use the 14/2.5 wide open? Would it give you the depth of field you need? If you have to stop it down then you gain nothing over the 7-14.