Lens Filters/Hoods for 12-50 and 45 f/1.8

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Trego, Jun 5, 2012.

1. Trego

Trego Mu-43 Rookie

May 12, 2012
    First of all, I am really new to EVIL photography. Snap pictures with a P&S like a fool, but this is all new to me. So far, I picked up the OM-D 12-50 Kit and just got a lightly used 45mm for 300 bucks (did I do okay?)

So my question is, do I need to pick up filters to protect my lenses, or are filters for another purpose?

How much does brand/quality matter?

Also, I like the look of the lens hoods, but what are they for exactly?

Yeah...huge n00b. Thanks for taking the time to reply.

And I promise to share pictures soon.
  2. Redridge

Redridge Mu-43 Regular

Apr 17, 2012
    people put uv filter to protect their lens... I don't like using them since Im very careful with my gear.... usually brand names fit better, but third party as good as well. I would stick with the recommendations from this board.... Hoods are for protection and minimizing flare.
  3. Lawrence A.

Lawrence A. Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 14, 2012
    New Mexico
    For the 12-50 I got the JJC replacement. It fits nicely and snaps into place as it should. Same hood as the Olympus for a fraction of the price. Amazon has it: Amazon.com: JJC LH-J55B Professional Lens Hood for Olympus 9-18mm & 12-50mm Zuiko Lenses Replaces Olympus LH-55B: Electronics

For the 45 I got a metal screw on hood, that I pretty much keep screwed into the UV filter on front. I believe I got it at Adorama. Any 37mm screw on will work.

As for UV filters: It's a personal choice. Walking around I keep one on. If I don't want the effect it produces I take it off. But it keeps a lot of grit off my lens in the desert climate where I live.
  4. Trego

Trego Mu-43 Rookie

May 12, 2012

So would a lens hood helped with this shot? (which I like, but definitely flared)
  5. ean10775

ean10775 Mu-43 All-Pro

Jan 31, 2011
    Cleveland, Ohio