Lens design - DSLR vs Mirrorless

Discussion in 'Other Systems' started by Danny_SWE, Feb 11, 2015.

1. Danny_SWE

Danny_SWE Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 30, 2013
    Sweden (Gothenburg)
    I got stuck in a most difficult discussion at work with a DSLR-guy.

He thinks lenses that are simpler (like ours) are not as good. But then I tried to explain lens design for mirrorless and contrast detect versus for phase detect and mirror. But as I'm no expert I felt I couldn't do it so good. So now I ask you guys...

What are the actual difference in a lens designed for phase detect and mirror compared to one for more or less and contrast detect?

(I think I've read something about lens elements for supporting phase detect that you don't need for mirrorless and thus more complicated design but I couldn't find anything when googling)

2. Conrad

Conrad Mu-43 Veteran

What is simpler in mirrorless lenses? The number of elements, use of special glass, and aspherical surfaces is on par with any modern lens design.

3. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Phase detect lenses have different AF motors, not different elements. Many new DSLR lenses are being designed to work well for both phase detect and contrast (i.e. Canon STM)

I'm not sure why one would conclude that mirrorless lenses are simpler designs, though:

M.Zuiko 12-40 and Panasonic 12-35 have 14 elements
    Canon 24-70 F4 L has 15 elements
    Nikon 24-70 F2.8 has 15 elements

Olympus 12mm f2 has 11 elements
    Canon 24mm f2.8 has 11 elements

Olympus 45mm f1.8 has 9 elements
    Canon 85mm f1.8 has 9 elements
    Nikkor 85mm f1.8 G has 9 elements

I'm noticing a pattern, so I'll stop there.

• Like Like x 3
  4. Klorenzo

Klorenzo Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 10, 2014
    Lorenzo
    I would add the new 40-150 too: 16 elements in 10 groups, two AF motors.