Lens Choice - Oly 45 1.8 / P 42.5 1.7 --- Plus P20 1.7 / P25 1.7

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by thehomeofDob, Jun 18, 2017.

1. thehomeofDob

thehomeofDob New to Mu-43

Jun 18, 2017
    Hey guys,

I recently purchased a GX80 with the 35-100mm 4.0-5.6 and 12-32 kit lens. I've been having a lot of fun figuring it out and learning more about photography. I've been noticing though that a lot of the time when indoors the camera wants to jump the ISO up to get a well balanced image. I have it capped at 3200, but even on a bright sunny day outside its looking for those higher ISO or slower shutters to get a good image.

I've been looking at some lower aperture primes and would like some help. I'll start with what I shoot (though I'm totally new to photography).

• Kids - 4 month old and a 9 year old.
    • Vacations - We take a yearly sun holiday, but this year we'll be taking a trip the US which will include NY, DC, Niagra falls. Museums, landscapes, family shots in the city.
    • Family gatherings - My brother-in-laws wedding is next week, kids communions, etc.
    • I have a one time road trip across the US coming up this year too.
    • I would like to begin to shoot some wildlife, and some landscapes (mountains generally).
    So, I have planned to have the 12-32 as a regular walk about lens to keep things small so I will be more likely to keep the camera with me at all times.

For our vacations and such I'm going to pick up the 14-140mm for use in the day time, and then I'd like to have one faster prime available for indoors or evening shots.

So down to the prime selection.

From reading I think I would be happy with 2 of the listed lenses in the title. I'm just not sure.

I'd like to pick up at least one of them locally for my brother-in-laws wedding.

Local prices for the Oly 45 is €329, for the P 42.5 is €399.
    For the 20 1.7 €299 and the 25 1.7 €129 (with rebate).