Leica and C screw thread lenses on GH3

Lew

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
64
What functionality is available re focus & exposure when some of this wonderful, old glass is mounted on a GH3?
 

biomed

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 22, 2013
Messages
2,669
Location
Seattle area
Real Name
Mike
There will be no communication with the camera body. Set the camera to Manual mode - set the shutter speed on the camera body, adjust focus and aperture on the lens. You can also use Aperture priority mode - set the aperture and focus on the lens and the camera will select the shutter speed. LTM lenses work well with the exception of wide angles that may cause smearing in the corners of the image. I had the best results with 50mm and 75mm lenses.

Covina Voigtlander 50/1.5 on GH3

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Lew

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
64
... so, if I understand this, "A"perture priority mode allows me to use the in-camera light meter, but in "M"anual and "S"hutter priority, I'd have to use a hand held meter.
 

nsd20463

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Apr 30, 2011
Messages
118
Location
Santa Cruz, CA
On Panny (and I'd bet Oly has it has well) in M mode what used to be the exposure compensation becomes an exposure meter. So no handheld meter is necessary.
 

biomed

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 22, 2013
Messages
2,669
Location
Seattle area
Real Name
Mike
You can also use the in-camera metering ( displays +/- in f/stops) in Manual mode. Shutter priority will not work because the camera cannot control the lens aperture. Be sure to set "Shoot w/o lens" to ON in the Custom menu.

GH3, Cosina Voigtlander 50/1.5
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

biomed

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 22, 2013
Messages
2,669
Location
Seattle area
Real Name
Mike
GH3, Cosina Voigtlander 75/2.5
Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)
 

Lew

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
64
Ok,, I see that the "A" mode works with the camera selecting a shutter speed, but I don't see anything happening in "M" mode while I adjust the shutter speed and/or aperture. Where should I be looking?
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom