Lazy flash question: can you control on cam flash and remote flash on EP3

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by WT21, Aug 10, 2012.

1. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    I've got an EP3 with a pop-up flash.

I've got an FL-300R and am getting an FL-600R for my birthday.

Can I set the strength of the remote flash independently from my on-board or pop-up flash?

I'd like to really weaken the pop-up flash so that it is only adding a weak fill, while have the remote flash trigger more strongly. Can I do that, and is it different whether using the 300 or 600?

Thanks. I'm still a newbie with Flash, but am trying to learn.
  2. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Bump for help
  3. sokar

sokar Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 30, 2011
    I am guessing that Ned would be an expert on this subject. I use the EPM1 and Fl36R, both off an on camera. The clip on flash uses minimal power to trigger the radio flash, and there is little or no lighting effect from the clip on unit. The different levels of trigger light (low, medium, high) are for transmitting sufficient signal to the radio flash. I have found that low is sufficient the large majority of times.

The off camera flash unit can be adjusted through the RC menus on the camera. Once the RC mode is turned on and the flash is set to the correct mode, either TTL or manual settings can be applied and adjusted via the menus in the camera.

Hope this is of some assistance.
  4. BarefootPilgrim

BarefootPilgrim Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 23, 2009
    Westchester, IL
    Bill, I've done something like this, but not exactly as you describe it :biggrin: (see below). Your best bet for this would be to use the two flashes together in semi-strobist mode: :eek:

1 - set your camera's exposure mode to Manual and your shutter to one setting less than the maximum flash-synch speed. (Example: if your camera synchs at 1/160 max, set the shutter to 1/125.);

2 - set your camera flash exposure setting to TTL;