Laowa 7.5 f2 or Oly 9-18 f4-5.6

FreightTrain

Mu-43 Regular
Hi all, I am looking to buy a wide angle lens. Either the Laowa 7.5 f2 or the Oly 9-18 f4-5.6 Any one else considering these two lens . I am just a recreational photographer but am not interested in the fish eye lens . Which would you get .

tradesmith45

Mu-43 All-Pro
What software do you use for post processing? Does it have any radial filter or devignette adjustment?

SpecFoto

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Real Name
Jim
Although I have the excellent Oly 7-14mm f2.8, for my annual trip to Thailand this year I purchased the Laowa 7.5mm, mainly due carrying around too much gear in a very hot climate. I have been shooting with it for about 5 weeks now and I use the ultra wide angle for interior shots of temples, caves and lot of nature shots. (BTW, I have the Samyang 7.5mm fisheye, but really don't care for it and that is why I bought the non fisheye type lenses.)

Thoughts so far are that the IQ of the Laowa lens is excellent, it is tiny and very lightweight, easy to change focus with its smooth focus ring and takes my standard 46mm filters, a big plus. Most of my shots have been set to f2.8 to f5.6 and you need to change the aperture ring on the lens to do this, the camera will not change aperture. The aperture is not shown in the viewfinder, but the SS and EC are. So you can use a dial to adjust the SS to get the EC to be what the camera thinks is the proper exposure.

But, the actual focusing part and seeing what is in focus is not so easy with my EM1's, especially if inside or in shadows. Not nearly as easy as my Nikon gear ( I have 10 MF lenses). Partly my fault as I have not worked at mastering the magnify function. Also at f2-f2.8 there is vignetting.

Bottom line is that the Laowa is a very good lens, but MF will take some extra effort to get the results you want.

Last edited:

tradesmith45

Mu-43 All-Pro